My Texas BlueBonnet and The Mockingbird

Texas BlueBonnets
Texas BlueBonnets

My Texas BlueBonnet and The Mockingbird

The bluebonnet was designated the official state flower of Texas in 1901.
This photo of mine of the Bluebonnets is taken near a taco fast food chain. I drove past the flowers, but drove back to walk through them….and see their beauty.

The state bird in Texas is the Mockingbird

Texas designated the mockingbird (Mimus polyglottos) as official state bird in 1927. Northern Mockingbirds have extraordinary vocal abilities – they can sing up to 200 songs, including the songs of other birds, insect and amphibian sounds, even an occasional mechanical noise.

The Texas legislature noted that the mockingbird:

“…is found in all parts of the State, in winter and
in summer, in the city and in the country, on the prairie and in the woods and hills…is a singer of distinctive type, a fighter for the protection of his home, falling, if need be, in its defense, like any true Texan…”

With that being said….I have been feeding a certain mockingbird, near a Big Lots. He wobbles around on one foot only. I have seen him near the Shopping Mall as well, as when ever I see him, wobbling around, I know its him. I stop to feed him each and every time, and his friends. The first time I saw him…wobbling around at the Big Lots parking lot…..I stopped ….watching him….and I cried.
I wanted to hold him many times….but he is a fast flyer. He may have one foot, but he is a survival and a fighter. He is gone right now….I hope to see him back soon. I really hope I see him again.
If I don’t see him….I will do something in his honor this year in the Big Lots parking lot.
Please come back Biglot ….show me your songs.

My Texas BlueBonnet and The Mockingbird by:

Photobucket


Turkish Market-USA – Don’t look for inspiration, Be the inspiration.
http://www.turkishmarket-usa.com

Leave a Reply

